Legal Business Blogs

Ashurst leadership elections draw to a close as board and ExCo unveiled

Ashurst’s lengthy governance elections have come to a close as the top 15 firm announces the results of its final board elections and unveils the members of its executive committee (ExCo).

The 1006-lawyer firm’s new board comprises fourteen members from Ashurst and Big Six Australian merger partner Blake Dawson, with the eight newly-elected members announced today (5 November) including competition partner Peter Armitage and corporate partner Ian Williams in Sydney; London corporate partner Simon Beddow; Madrid real estate partner Cristina Calvo; Perth corporate partner Roger Davies; Frankfurt corporate partner Reinhard Eyring; Hong Kong corporate partner Robert Ogilvy Watson and London banking partner Mark Vickers.

The remaining six members of the board are new chair Ben Tidswell, newly-elected vice chair Mary Padbury, managing partner James Collis, chief financial officer Brian Dunlop and two independent board members Robert Gillespie and David Turner.

Separately, the firm earlier disclosed to Legal Business the final make-up of ExCo, which was decided this month and comprises 13 partners including the co-heads of each of its four divisions, client partners Tony Denholder and Logan Mair, Australia managing partner John Carrington, Asia managing partner Matt Mubb, and Collis.

Tidswell said: ‘Our new board is a key element in our governance structure and I am delighted to welcome such a strong team from across the new firm to this important role. I would like to congratulate them all and I am confident that they will each make a significant contribution in shaping the firm’s future.’

For a detailed analysis of the Ashurst/Blake Dawson merger see Comment: The air of unreality – can the big deal deliver for Ashurst?

The executive committee in full:

Global managing partner James Collis

Managing partner Asia Matthew Bubb and managing partner Australia John Carrington

Client partners Tony Denholder and Logan Mair

Corporate, commercial and competition division co-heads Phil Breden and Stephen Lloyd

Disputes, IP and employment co-heads Simon Bromwich and Lisa Ritson

Energy, resources, real estate and infrastructure co-heads Mark Elsey and Geoff Gishubl

Finance co-heads Paul Jenkins and Laurent Mabilat