The 2020 Legal Business Awards will comprise 25 categories and are open to everyone, including large international firms operating in multiple jurisdictions, boutique law firms, alternative legal services providers, in-house teams, chambers or a regional/offshore practice in the UK.

For the practice area awards, please only submit matters that were handled by UK-based lawyers – either offshore or onshore – during 2019.

Details of the criteria for each category can be found here, as well as descriptions of previous winners and shortlisted firms. For a full list of last year’s winners, click here.

Please ensure submissions include:

  • Partner contact and email address
  • Press contact and email address
  • Body text (max 600 words) explaining how you have met the specific criteria of the chosen award category
  • Client testimony where appropriate
  • We will assume that all information supplied to us may be published unless you indicate clearly otherwise.

Please feel free to submit in as many categories as you wish. Entries can be made here.

The closing date for nominations is Friday 1 November 2019.

A large and hugely experienced editorial team handles the shortlisting process, headed up by our editor-in-chief Alex Novarese, managing editor Mark McAteer, and chairman of Legal Business, John Pritchard.

Shortlisted firms will be personally notified in December and the full shortlist will not be published anywhere prior to the event. The winners will be selected from the shortlists by our own judging panel, comprising the Legal Business editorial team, plus leading general counsel and industry consultants.

For general enquiries relating to the submission process, please contact Mark McAteer on

To download a PDF version of the 2020 guidelines click here.


Please submit your entry using our new awards platform. It will only take a maximum of five minutes to submit.
Using the awards platform will allow you to:
• Login as many times as you’d like and edit your entry up until the submission deadline on Friday 1 November 2019.
• Enter more than once in each category, as long as the work submitted meets the criteria.
• Attach documents, links to videos and input testimonials


2020 judges will be announced soon.

2019 judges

Nigel Paterson, GC and company secretary, Dixons Carphone; Anna Cosgrave, head of legal, graze; Ruwan De Soyza, GC, Worldpay; Rushad Abadan, GC, Standard Life Aberdeen; Charlotte Heiss, group chief legal officer and company secretary, RSA; Neil Murrin, GC and director – regulatory affairs, Trainline; Richard Price, GC and company secretary, Anglo American; Angus McBride, GC, News UK; Geoffrey Timms, GC and company secretary, Legal & General; Kirsty Cooper, GC and company secretary, Aviva; Dan Guildford, GC, The Financial Times; Nayeem Syed, assistant GC, Refinitiv; Liz Tanner, director of legal services, SSE; Elizabeth Messud, group legal director, Kingfisher; Joanne Jolly, GC and company secretary – insurance and wealth, Lloyds Banking Group; and Jeremy Barton, GC, KPMG UK; as well as Mark McAteer and Alex Novarese from Legal Business.